Curious to know if someone blocked you on Instagram?
Every now and then, you might find yourself, what you think is having been blocked by someone on Instagram. At the same time, you’ve probably found that Instagram doesn’t explicitly tells you when someone has blocked you, or even that someone has. As such, if you don’t know the indications of having been blocked by someone on Instagram, you can only assume that they have, but not be sure.
Whether you know it or not, you’ve probably been blocked by someone at some point. Of course, the reasons may vary, but the catch is that it can be hard to know if someone actually has blocked you.
Fortunately, this is why I am here.
In this article, I’ll share all the tells to know if someone blocked you on Instagram. I’ll also share potential other reasons why you might not be able to see their posts find their accounts, etc.
This article will be short but sweet so let’s dig right in.
No matter the reason, It might be a little unclear if the person has blocked you or simply got shut down, banned or changed name. In this article, however, you’ll learn how to know if someone blocked you on Instagram.
What does it mean when a user is not found on Instagram?
If you come across a user on Instagram, tap their profile, and find the message ”user not found”, it can mean two things.
It can either mean that their account is gone because of one reason or another. Most often, it is because the account has been permanently banned by Instagram, but it can also be because the person has deleted their account or temporarily disabled it.
Secondly, it can also be because they have changed their username, and you tapped on a ”tag” of their old username.
Many people believe that when a user is not found on Instagram it is because they have blocked them, but when someone has blocked you on Instagram, it will not say ”user not found”, instead, it will say ”no posts”. But more on that later.
Why you might have been blocked on Instagram
It’s difficult to say why you might have been blocked on Instagram because the reasons are endless, however, these are the most common reasons why you have been blocked by someone on Instagram:
- Blocked by the partner after splitting up
- Have a private account and regret accepting the follow request in the first place
- Don’t want someone to see their pictures (this can depend on many reasons, for example, don’t know them well enough)
- Blocked to prove a point
- Don’t want the boss/teacher etc. to have a look at the personal and social life
- Irritating person
- Any at someone
- Don’t like someone
..And many more reasons.
How to know if someone blocked you on Instagram
There are many ways you can go about to know if someone blocked you on Instagram, however, there is no built-in feature or so that will tell you that you have been blocked – for obvious reasons. Therefore, when finding out, you have to look at indications of being blocked and then draw a conclusion from there.
- Launch the app
- Go to the search bar and search for the person you believe has blocked you
Once you have found the account you searched for, tap on it. If you go to the account and are not able to see their pictures, and it says ”no posts” in their profile, even though their indicator tells you that they have in fact shared photos, you have been blocked by them on Instagram. If you aren’t able to find them in the search bar, you can also go to the comment section on any post and then tag them in the post. Once you’ve done so, you can tap on the tagged username and get to their profile through that method. Have in mind, however, that it might also be that they have deactivated their Instagram account.
Searching for their account is the quickest way to see if someone has blocked you on Instagram. If their account is private, they won’t show up in the search results if you’ve been blocked.
If the account is public, the account will show up in your search results.
The second indication to know if someone blocked you on Instagram is by going to their profile and tapping the ”follow” button. If the button reverts to “follow” again, it means that they have blocked you.
Method 3: Apps
Apart from the methods above to know if someone blocked you on Instagram, there are also apps that you can see who has blocked you with. You can use third-party apps such as Blockersspy which lets you know who has unfollowed your account. It also tells you how many accounts in total which have unfollowed you.
There are a large number of third-party apps that you can use to see which accounts have blocked you, and using an app is undoubtedly the most effective and easiest way to see who has blocked you. The catch, however, is that in order to be able to know if someone blocked you on Instagram using a third-party app, you need to log in to the app with your Instagram account through the app. If you stumble across a scam app and then type in your login details, you might find your account hacked. This is why you need to be extremely careful before typing in your login details to any third-party apps. Ideally, you should limit yourself to only a few apps.
The catch with using a ”block app”, however, is that they might not be 100% accurate in the sense that the person you think has blocked you may just have stopped following you without actually blocking your account.
How To Know If Someone Blocked You on Instagram: tagged photos
Finding a private account and then seeing if they have blocked you on Instagram is a lot trickier than finding a public account, however, one way to find a private account is to try to find photos in which the person you believe has blocked you has been tagged in. If so, go to the photo in which they are tagged in and then go to their profile using tags.
Look from a friend’s account
The last way to know if someone blocked you on Instagram is to ask a friend to look them up for you. If your friend can find that person’s account but you can’t, you have obviously been blocked.