If I Temporarily Disable My Instagram Account, Can People Unfollow Me?

If I Temporarily Disable My Instagram Account, Can People Unfollow Me




 

If I Temporarily Disable My Instagram Account, Can People Unfollow Me?

If you didn’t know that you can disable/deactivate your Instagram account, we recommend that you read How to temporarily deactivate your Instagram account to learn more on how to do it and what happens with your account when you do.

On Instagram, you can temporarily deactivate your account. But what does this mean? And most importantly, can people unfollow you if you disable your Instagram account?

Let’s dig right in.

If I Temporarily Disable My Instagram Account, Can People Unfollow Me?

If you temporary disable your Instagram account, your account data is stored and when you reactivate your account, the data will be restored. When you deactivate your account on Instagram, your account will disappear from everywhere on Instagram. This means that the people who are following you won’t be able to see you in their following list. This also means that people won’t be able to unfollow your account while it is disabled, simply because people won’t be able to find it.

If I Temporarily Disable My Instagram Account, Can People Unfollow Me?

Since your account won’t be in their following list, this also means that their followings will go down with 1 person while your account is disabled, but as soon as you restore your account, it will go back to the same as it was before, meaning that the number of accounts they follow will increase by 1 user and you will be in their following list again.

This is also the reason why many people who know that they won’t be able to use their account for a while or that they will be inactive for a while prefer to temporarily deactivate their account so no one will be able to unfollow them. It is very common on Instagram that people unfollow accounts that are inactive or posts very seldom since people want fresh content in their feed (and it also might look like that person has quit Instagram). There is thus no point in following inactive accounts.

So, to answer the question: NO, people won’t be able to unfollow your Instagram account if it is disabled because they won’t be able to find it until it is activated again.

You may still lose followers, though

There’s a catch, though. When you have deactivated your Instagram account and then reactivated it again, you may find that you have lost followers. But if you have, it is not because of the fact that you have been unfollowed, because people can’t unfollow you, remember?

Instead, if you find that you’ve lost followers while your Instagram account has been disabled, it is because some of your followers have been banned, deleted their accounts, or temporarily deactivated them. As for having deleted their accounts or become banned, this is permanent, but once they reactivate their Instagram account after having temporarily deactivated it, you’ll get your followers back.

This is why you might lose followers despite having deactivated your account and it should technically not be possible to lose followers.

 

If you temporarily deactivate your Instagram account, Instagram will not delete any of your followers, either.




27 Comments

  • Crystal

    what if instagram disabled your page what do i do? do they tell me when i am going to get my page back could i use that same user if they did disable it or no because when i try and log in they say that the user i typed in don’t belonging to anyone but when i try and make a new page what that same user that “don’t belong to someone” it says username isn’t available like i’m confused please answer back to me!

    • Jens Wirdenius

      Hi Crystal!
      If your account has been banned, Instagram won’t give it back to you unless you say that they have made a mistake and they decide that they have in fact made a mistake in banning your account.
      If your account have been banned, you won’t be able to use the same username if you are creating a new account.
      Let me know if there’s anything else:)
      Jens

  • Thatoe Hsu Pyae

    Will I actually get my account back easily after deactivating? I just accidentally deactivated it right now and being worried about that. I hope it won’t take more than a week. Please answer me back

    • Jens Wirdenius

      Hi Thatoe,
      No. If you temporarily deactivate your Instagram account, it won’t be deleted. Some people say that when you deactivate your account and not log in to it for years, Instagram will delete it, but there’s no proof. So to answer your question, yes, you will get back your account after deactivating it by simply logging in to your account again.
      Hope it helps!

  • Mari S.

    Don’t know if you have the answer to this question but I am looking for clarification on only being able to temporarily deactivate once a week. It remains inactive for 1 week and then “reactivates” automatically after that? [Although I’ve deactivated it once before and checked via another account after 1 week and it still shows as user not found]..or is it simply that I can only use this feature once a week. I.E. Temp deactivate on a Monday…reactivate it two days later…try to temp deactivate again before that week but unable because it hasn’t been the entire week. Hope that just made since! Overall, my concern is that I would like to keep it temp deactivated for one month and am concerned IG will permanently deactivate it due to the length of time. Appreciate your response in my long question!

    • Jens Wirdenius

      Hi Mari!
      Thanks for your comment.
      If you temporarily activate your account (even for longer periods of time), you don’t have to worry about Instagram permanently deleting your account – because they won’t. When you decide to “reactivate” your account again, you simply log in to your account and it will still be there.
      Now, temporarily deactivating your account can only be done manually by following the steps in this article, and when you want to reactive the account, you simply log in to it again.
      In other words, it will NEVER reactive by itself. You have to log in to your account.

      Yes, you can only deactivate your account every seven days, so if you’ve deactivated your account on the first day, then 3 days later reactivated it, you have to wait 4 more days in order to deactivate the account again.

      Hope you got the answers to all your questions and don’t hesitate to contact again if you have more questions:)
      Jens

  • Amanda

    If I have 2 Instagram accounts that I toggle back and forth on the app can I deactivate just one of them without losing the other? How can I make sure I’m deactivating the correct one?

    • Jens Wirdenius

      Hi Amanda!
      Of course!
      Just make sure you’re logged in to the right account and then you can deactivate that specific account.

      -Jens

  • Robyn

    I hadn’t been active on insta for a while and then I realized I’d been hacked. Or, at least that’s what I think because of over 7,000 i now am following that I never signed up to follow. Yes, this happened with a private account!
    I just temporarily deactivated my account, but thinking I should just delete entirely.

    Any suggestions?

    • Jens Wirdenius

      Hi Robyn,
      I would advise you to change the password to your account as well as activating two-factor authentication. Deactivating the account won’t really matter since if they have your login details, they’ll be able to activate it again.

      Hope it helps!
      Jens

    • Jens Wirdenius

      Hi Jen,
      No, they won’t be able to block me while your account is disabled because of the simple fact that your account will be nowhere to be found when disabled:)

      Hope it helps!
      Jens

    • Jens Wirdenius

      Hi Monica,

      If you have disabled your Instagram account, no one will be able to find it – no matter if you’ve blocked an account or not.

      Hope it helps!

      Jens

  • Remy

    I have temporarily disabled my account twice. I say this because it somehow reactivated itself and a friend told me it was showing again. I was completely logged out and even removed the app so there is no way it was me. I have since changed the password but I don’t want to keep disabling it, it reactivates on it’s own, wait a week, disable it again, repeat. Instagram’s Help Center naturally has nothing which covers this issue.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *