Can You Delete Direct Messages on Instagram?

Sometimes, you might send something by accident that you weren’t supposed to send. This can happen on text, on Instagram, and any other place where you can communicate with people. Of course, sending something to someone that you wasn’t supposed to send is not something you dream of doing, since, if sending the wrong things, you might find yourself in trouble, or at least in an awkward situation.

And sometimes, you might find that some people send you messages that you have no interest in receiving on Instagram. This can be Direct Messages from spammers and other accounts that you don’t want to hear from. Also, it might be the case that some of your peers have sent you something, but now, you want to delete Direct Messages on Instagram for some reason.

There are two ”ways” of deleting Instagram Direct Messages, but there are also a few other ways to delete Direct Messages on Instagram. The first is do delete Instagram Direct Messages and the other method is to unsent Instagram Direct Messages. In this article, I’ll go through them all.

Can You Delete Direct Messages on Instagram?

The short answer: YES. and here’s how you do it.

How to delete Instagram Direct Messages that you’ve sent to someone

If you want to delete Instagram Direct messages that you’ve sent to someone, there’s one ”main” way to do so. This approach allows you to delete individual messages that you’ve sent one-by-one. You can delete as many messages as you want using the following method:

  1. Go to your Instagram Direct Messages
  2. Tap the conversation where the message you would like to delete is
  3. Tap and hold on the message you’ve sent
  4. You will find 3 options. Copy, Paste or unsend.
  5. Tap “unsend”
  6. Your message has now disappeared from the recipient’s chat as well as your own.

When doing this, the message disappears for both you and the recipient, and this is great news if you ever regret something you’ve written and want to have the opportunity to take it back.

Method 2 to delete Direct Messages on Instagram

The second way to delete Direct Messages on Instagram is to go to your DM inbox and find the conversation history you wish to delete.

Now, swipe left on the conversation when in your DM inbox on the conversation that you wish to delete. Now, select Delete.

This method will remove the whole conversation history, and if you are to message them again, the conversation will start from scratch. Have in mind, though, that doing this will only delete the history for you. The other person can still see all the messages that you’ve sent to each other previously.

Remember that once you use any of these methods to delete Direct Messages on Instagram, there’s no way to get them back.

Method 2 to delete Direct Messages on Instagram

If you wish to delete all the messages of the conversation from both persons’ accounts, you can do so, and the way you do that is by blocking the other person. When you block them, none of you will be able to see the Direct Messages that you’ve sent each other.

Now get an hassle-free remote access to your favorite windows apps and data remotely from anywhere on any device(PC/android/iOS) with Instagram like features without intruding ads and surveillance using citrix vdi from CloudDesktopOnline at an affordable xendesktop cost powered by Apps4Rent.

20 Comments

  • Elle

    How did one of my followers on Instagram deleted our messages for both sides? They didnt block me because they are still following me and I’m following!

    • Jens Wirdenius

      Hi!
      That sounds strange!
      You are only able to delete your own messages within the DM function.
      Has the whole chat disappeared or have only some messages disappeared?

  • Dan

    Hi,
    If you send a direct message on Instagram and then delete your account, does the message you sent to that person get deleted as well.

    Thanks

    • Jens Wirdenius

      Hi Dan,
      Yes, everything connected to your Instagram account disappears when you delete your account. Including DMs.

      Regards,
      J

  • Veronica

    Hi , I sent a message to someone that I don’t even follow . Regret sending it so I blocked them but read on internet that they would still see the DM even , So I temporarily disable my account . Are you saying if I just keep them blocked they won’t be able to view the DM ?

    • Jens Wirdenius

      Hi Veronica,
      Yes, if you block someone on Instagram, they won’t be able to read your Direct Messages.

      Hope it helps!
      J

    • Jens Wirdenius

      Hi!
      Swipe left on the chat with that person when you are inside your Direct Messages. Then click Delete.

      Hope it helps!
      J

    • Jens Wirdenius

      Hi!
      Yes, they still can see the previous DMs that you have sent them. The blocked person wont be able to see your profile and your posts however they can see the DMs you’ve sent them and vice versa!

      Hope it helps!

  • Dan Stoner

    what about just deleting one messaged received from someone?? you can unsend your own message fine, you can delete the whole conversation but you can’t seem to be able to delete a single message from someone??

    • Jens Wirdenius

      Hi Dan,
      Yes, that is correct.
      And note that when you delete the whole chat, you only delete it for yourself. This is also why you cannot delete someone’s messages one by one.

      Kind regards,
      Millenary Watches

  • Cartier

    Hi I just had a weird thing happened
    I was chatting to someone and there were a load of conversations and tonight I saw there are no dm what so ever, I still can see the dm icon but when I go into the chat that’s blank and nothing is there, the person also didn’t block me just unfollowed me but how did they do that? Did they acceessed my acount?!

    • Jens

      Hi!
      They could have just blocked you and then unblocked you. That way, the chat disappears, and they won’t follow you anymore.

      Hope it helps!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *