How to delete your Snapchat Account in 1 Minute

Looking to delete your Snapchat account?

You’re in the right place!

There are many reasons to why you may want to delete your Snapchat account. Maybe you’ve created a new account, maybe your account was struck by the Snapchat leak when a security scare involving a massive leak of 4.6 million Snapchat usernames and phone numbers took place, or maybe, you’ve just gotten tired of it.

Snapchat lost the trust of a lot of users after their security breach, and an action that a large number of people took was to delete their Snapchat account.

Despite Snapchat having faced some adversity and challenges the last couple of years, especially seeing a considerably slowed-down growth as a result of Instagram introducing a Snapchat-replicated feature, which was Stories. And since Instagram already had considerably more users, many people chose to ditch Snapchat and only using Instagram.

However, despite this, Snapchat is still today one of the largest social media platforms there is, and so its power shouldn’t be underrated. If you, still want to delete your Snapchat account for some reason, continue reading.

In this post, you’ll learn how to delete your Snapchat account permanently.

How to delete Snapchat account

Deleting your Snapchat account only demands a few steps.

Currently, there are two ways to do this. Method 1 is directly through the app, and method 2 is by visiting the Snapchat.com website and then logging in to your account.

Delete your Snapchat account through the app:

  1. Open the Snapchat app and tap your Bitmoji character (if you have one) in the top-left corner when inside of the camera screen.
  2. Tap the gear icon in the upper right-hand corner to go to the Settings page.
  3. Tap Support.
  4. Type “Delete an Account” in the Search for answers bar.
  5. Enter your Snapchat password.
  6. Tap the Delete My Account button to close the account.

Delete your Snapchat account through the app through the website:

  1. Go to https://support.snapchat.com/delete-account
  2. Enter your Snapchat username and password.
  3. Click Submit.

Your account will be deactivated and deleted after 30 days. This means that if you change your mind, you can reactivate your account by logging in to your Snapchat account again before the 30 days has passed. If you log in to your account after 30 days, your Snapchat account will have been permanently deleted.

When your Snapchat account is inactivated, your friends cannot contact you or interact with you on Snapchat.

Also, have in mind that when your account is inactivated, you can’t log in with your email address, nor can you change your password, so make sure you keep track of your password and never forget it.

Have any questions about deleting your Snapchat account or anything else? related to Snapchat? Heck, if you have ANY questions, let us know in the comment section below and we’ll answer them.

2 Comments

  • Mandi

    I sent someone a message on Snapchat that I did want them to read but ended up deleting my account before they opened it. Then I got to thinking, will they still get that unread message? I hope so!

    • Jens Wirdenius

      Hi Mandi,

      If you delete your account, they will still be able to view the message because you can’t delete messages other people have already received through the Snapchat app, even if you block them, remove them as a friend or delete your account.

      Hope it helps!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *